S. America (CONMEBOL)

The South American Football Confederation (Spanish: Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol, Portuguese: Confederação Sul-Americana de Futebol), commonly known as CONMEBOL(pronunciation: kɑnməbɑl̟), is the continental governing body of association football in South America and it is one of FIFA's six continental confederations. The oldest continental confederation in the world, its headquarters are located in Luque, Paraguay. CONMEBOL is responsible for the organization and governance of South American football's major international tournaments. With 10 member football associations, it has the fewest members of all the confederations in FIFA.

CONMEBOL national teams have won nine FIFA World Cups (Brazil five, Argentina and Uruguay two trophies each), and CONMEBOL clubs have won 22 Intercontinental Cups and four FIFA Club World Cups. Argentina and Uruguay have also won two Olympic gold medals each.

The World Cup qualifiers of CONMEBOL have been rated as the toughest qualifiers in the world, for its simple system (round-robin, two rounds), entry of some of the most laureated national teams in the world, leveling of the weaker national teams, climate conditions, geographic conditions, strong home stands and passionate supporters.